TU Delft
Year
print this page print this page     
NEDERLANDSENGLISH
Organization
2017/2018 Electrical Engineering, Mathematics and Computer Science Master Computer Science
IN4306
Literature Survey
ECTS: 10
Responsible Instructor
Name E-mail
Dr.ir. J.F.M. Tonino    J.F.M.Tonino@tudelft.nl
Contact Hours / Week x/x/x/x
Not applicable
Education Period
None (Self Study)
Start Education
1
Exam Period
none
Course Language
English
Course Contents
The Literature Survey is an individual assignment carried out under supervision of a CS staff member, i.e. an assistant, associate or full professor. For this assignment the student reads a broad range of papers in the chosen specialisation field and writes a report in which the ideas found in the papers are discussed and compared.

It is not allowed to merge this assignment with the thesis project.
Study Goals
The student is able to read contemporary scientific literature in the chosen field of specialisation.
The student is able to distill the main ideas of a paper and to write these down in his or her own words.
The student is able to place the ideas of different papers in perspective by comparing these.
The student is aware of the most important academic journals and conferences of the research field of the chosen specialization.
The student understands the role of communication and writing inherent in academic research (e.g. peer review process).
The student understands experimental principles (hypothesis, validation, evaluation, theoretical versus empirical results, .).
Education Method
Individual assignment.
Assessment
Writing a scientific report, individually and under supervision of a staff member. This staff member will also mark the report.
Enrolment / Application
To apply for a literature study the student should contact a staff member of the research group of her/his chosen specialization to get approval and to discuss content and expected outcome. This staff member will supervise the survey.
Co-instructor
Name E-mail
Dr.ir. A.R. Bidarra    R.Bidarra@tudelft.nl
C. Doerr    C.Doerr@tudelft.nl
Dr. S.T. Erdweg    S.T.Erdweg@tudelft.nl
Dr. K.A. Hildebrandt    K.A.Hildebrandt@tudelft.nl
Dr. C. Lofi    C.Lofi@tudelft.nl